## cracku.in

- The first Indian Railway Line was laid in 1853 from Bombay to thane and Second from Calcutta to Raniguni
- Post Office Act was passed in 1854 and Postal stamp was issued for the first time
- The Governor General of India in 1855 is Lord Canning
- Hindu Marriage Act was passed in 1856
- The revolt of 1857 or Sepoy Mutiny or considered the first war of Independence took place in 1857.
- Important Persons of the revolt of 1857 are:
  - Bahadur Shah Zafar the last Mughal emperor of India
  - Jhansi Lakshmi Bai Died in 1958 fighting against the British
  - Nana Saheb escaped to Nepal
  - Kunwar Singh
- Nawab Wajib Ali Shalon Notesale.co.undation e ad Madras Universities took place in Foundation of C
- Indian Council Act was passed in 1858
- Indigo Revolt 1859 -60 is a peasant movement based in Bengal
- Indian Penal Code Bare Act was passed in 1860
- Indian High Court Act passed in 1861

## cracku.in

- British Prime Minister Lord Attlee announced a landmark Cabinet Mission Plan wherein a cabinet from Britain will visit India to discuss various proposals that were later accepted by Congress and Muslim League
- However, Muslim League withdrew later from Cabinet Mission demanding for separate Pakistan
- The Constituent Assembly was formed in December 1946 and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected the President and the first session was boycotted by the Muslim League
- Britain Prime Minister made a landmark Announcement that British would withdraw from India before June 1948
- ✤ Lord Mountbatten was appointed as the Vice-Roy of 2<sup>th</sup> March 1947
- Mountbatten Plan was outlined for the partition of India on June 3<sup>rd</sup> 1947 and was accepted by both Congress at outline League
- Indian Independence Bill was formulated on 4<sup>th</sup> July 1947 and the bill was passed on 15<sup>th</sup> July 1947
- India was declared Freedom on 15<sup>th</sup> August 1947
- At the time of Independence, there were 562 Princely states majority of these states have signed the instrument of Accession, which was introduced by Government of India Act 1935, to join the dominion of India, expect for few Princely states, the accession was possible because of the efforts of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, the First Home Minister of Independent India
- Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel is often referred to as the Iron Man of India