DNA Structure

DNA is a polymer of nucleotides which are monomers. A nucleotide is comprised of several parts:

- 1. Deoxyribose Sugar
- 2. Phosphate Group
- 3. Nitrogen Containing Base

Nucleotides can also be called deoxyribonucleoside triphosphates.

There are four nitrogen containing bases and these are placed in two groups:

Purines – Adenine (A) and Guanine (G)

Pyrimidines - Cytosine (C) and Thymine (T) with Uracil (U) for RNA

Purines are made up of a single heterocyclic (made up of more than a single recurring atom) ring while Pyrimidines are made up of two. An easy way to remember which is which is to think of a TUC biscuit; the think is similar to that of the pyrimidiles and the letters of TUC represent the three bases belong it that group, thenice, sytosine and uracil.



A nucleotide

